Giving Up On Books? Bookish Musings

 

book-1528266_640
Photo via the internet

 

This is a topic I don’t encounter often, but when I do…

Seems like the decision to continue or simply give up on a book, for me, is like choosing to live or die. Dramatic? Yes, but never the less, I hate coming across those to read or not to read situations.

First of all, I feel I owe it to every author to give their book a fair chance to the end and if I genuinely hated it, at least it was an informed decision. After all, I hope others give me a fair shake when reading my writing. Not that I have written anything of substance since Mrs. March’s Writing For College class back in ’98, but even this here blog.

But what to do when the book is so…not working for me that I keep finding excuses to do and read anything except said book?

That’s where I am currently. I started a Peter Straub book called Floating Dragon and if you follow my blog on Facebook or Instagram, you know my love/hate relationship with Straub. I find it difficult that someone who my beloved Stephen King chooses to write with wouldn’t appeal to me. He doesn’t always disappoint,  just sometimes there is so much backstory and…I digress.

Since starting this book a week or two ago I have read Animal Farm by George Orwell, reread Blockade Billy by Stephen King, found a new sci-fi love in Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game and also started to reread Stephen King’s Dolores Claiborne. Do you see my desperate attempt to not pick up Floating Dragon? Thing is, the book isn’t even horrible. Just so…very…slow……………soooo…………sloooooooooow.

So the question still stands. Do I give up or stick it out? Maybe put the book away for a later date when perhaps I can give it a better chance?

To date, I have only ever stopped a book in the first two chapters and actually threw it in the trash one time (normally out of character for me). I don’t remember the name of that book, but it sucked the big one so badly I just couldn’t…

What do you do in this situation? Let me know.  I would love to hear your thoughts on this topic.

3 thoughts on “Giving Up On Books? Bookish Musings

  1. I used to never give up on a book, then I started blogging and I realized that there are thousands of good books out there. I was wasting my time reading a book I didn’t like when I could be reading something I thought was amazing. It makes sense that you’d want to give an author a fair shot, but it sounds like you have. Peter Straub has many fans, but no author is for everyone. Sometimes it’s okay to just let go. That’s just my opinion though, and it took me years to get there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

